Crimson Daggers — Art forum

Full Version: Is beeing cheap an advantage? Yay or nay and thoughts...
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello everyone. I'm new here.

I'm currently studying architecture but in the same time I'm teaching myself digital art.
Architecture is an honored and well paying profession here were I live but I have a huge passion about art and I don't want to be stuck in a boring desk job.

I always thought it would be easier for me to survive this industry as a freelancer due to the low cost of living in my country(Albania).
A monthly income of 400$ would be enough for me to motivate me working full time but as I learned more about the industry it seems that it may not be easy even if you're willing to sell yourself cheap.
I do not believe in artist selling their self cheap and I absolutely do not encourage it, however living in a poor I think this salary is acceptable for me.

So what do you think.
How much of an advantage is your price?
(without sacrificing quality)

For 400$ a month should I take it slow and focus mainly on university of should I focus on my art mainly and less about uni?
Hello and welcome to CD! :) Well to answer your question: I don't think having cheap rates is an "advantage"

I'm not sure it's even the right way of thinking about it to be honest.

I think it more depends on the kind of jobs you can get at your skill level and the amount of effort you spend in marketing yourself to get work. Starting off it can be hard to land decent paying freelance jobs.

There are many people and companies only willing to pay only $100 US and below for finished illustrations, or concept designs that may take anywhere from 2 to 14 hours to produce! Unfortunately these types of jobs are annoyingly common out there especially in the indie market and you will end up being approached to do them.