Crimson Daggers — Art forum

Full Version: To Cyan Sky
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
I am new to digitalart and drawing from imagination. I study at university mechanical engineering, but I want to be concept artist... I have been drawing 3 years actively, but is it mostly traditional from reference. And I feel that I haven't learn anything from it. So here I am, to learn draw. Critique is welcome!

[attachment=78150][attachment=78151]
Hi! Welcome to cm!

Before i even advice you i think as a beginner what i learned was to get rid of my pride. Listen to advices even if its not solid. you can either take it or leave it. 

The reason why you havent learn anything is because you are not applying much of what you learn to your own stuff. I started out just doing master copies, studies and little imaginative work till i got adviced to do more. Your imaginative work might not be what you want it to be  now but keep up the mileage and overtime with patience and hardwork, you'll attain it.

Learn to use reference the smart way. Reference is where you look and take the essence of the photo to your drawing not directly copy them. You have to feel it! If you are just copying what you see then its just gonna be another replication of it. Observation and applying is key here. Observation, to know it. Applying ,to feel it. Both combine = contain in memory. Go life if possible dont be restricted to photos. If you took your phone out and compare it to the actual, you'll see that the one on the phone has different, contrasting colors. Its not even the actual colors on a few parts.

And before even doing a piece make studies nomatter how small the thing is, you want to build up the visual library with the correct stuff mindless repeitition with no correct application is just a waste of time.