Crimson Daggers — Art forum

Full Version: svc sketchbook
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I want to improve at drawing and painting. I enjoy creating and I don't have any ulterior goals other than to get good at something. I've studied for almost 2 years now.

Currently I'm studying portraiture. I haven't painted many people and studies of painting stretch out for hours. I want to be faster because I have only a little time each night to practice. Probably shouldn't be painting at all for a while because my drawing is weak but I prefer to paint so I indulged.

[Image: RPKVprf.png]
source painting by Ron Hicks

basic perspective study from last month
[Image: E8nKTQP.png]

I think I can learn to create faster so I can study faster and improve faster but I need some help optimizing my time spent for value gained.
Welcome to the forum svc! For only 2 years of work and limited practice time it looks like you've advanced a good deal (especially compared to myself at that stage, LOL).

THE FOLLOWING PARAGRAPHS ARE ONLY MY OPINION. YOU MAY DISAGREE AND OTHER MEMBERS MAY HAVE BETTER ADVICE.

If you want to paint, then paint. To some extent, painting improves drawing, and vice versa. But, since you're pressed for time, and as you've probably suspected already, sticking with drawing for now WOULD be faster for improving certain deficiencies. For example, in that portrait study you posted, there's some tilts and curves that aren't right (mainly in the neck and eyes), which would be more immediately obvious if you had done the study with lines, and you could make multiple attempts in the same amount of time that a painted study would require.