Crimson Daggers — Art forum
BeetleSpider's Web - Printable Version

+- Crimson Daggers — Art forum (//crimsondaggers.com/forum)
+-- Forum: PERSONAL ARTWORK (//crimsondaggers.com/forum/forum-9.html)
+--- Forum: SKETCHBOOKS (//crimsondaggers.com/forum/forum-10.html)
+--- Thread: BeetleSpider's Web (/thread-8809.html)

BeetleSpider's Web - BeetleSpider - 03-20-2020

Hi all.

I like to draw with dip pens and India ink mostly, though I have started working digitally too recently. I also like painting sometimes too.

I'm a hobbyist really, I like to draw stuff like monsters and animals as well as comics. That said, I want to get better with studying fundamentals of drawing so I thought this would be a good place to get critique. 

Here's a few recent samples of my work to start off. Any advice on things you think could be improved for now would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

[Image: 5ToNdf6h.jpg]
[Image: B62twCMh.jpg]
[Image: xhYOrXah.jpg]
[Image: LWV6TYyh.jpg]

RE: BeetleSpider's Web - darktiste - 03-20-2020

If you want to see if your hatching is going in the right way try to put less dark around your figure in the background and let the hatching show the form.If you follow the form with hatching you can create the illusion of volume.If you apply straight line over a ball what happen?You flatten the ball.If you put hatching that follow the curved nature of that ball you get a sphere.

RE: BeetleSpider's Web - neopatogen - 03-20-2020

Hey welcome Beetlespider! 
Great to see another person who appreciates insects here!
As for fundamentals that could help you to be more confident drawing insects, especially with ink, I'd recommend checking out https://drawabox.com/lessons . But better start with first lessons before jumping into insect one, you won't regret it :) They also have a Discord server where everyone gets crits from the community pretty quickly.
Top creature is pretty cool, I think you could make an interesting full body design based on that :)