Any advice?
Hi guys!
I recently started painting environments and I feel like I have sooooo much to learn. Any advice would be welcome
(The last one is matte painting)
[Image: forestnshit1.jpg]
[Image: desert-temple2.jpg]
[Image: matte-bridge.jpg]
You're off to a good start, so don't be discouraged. I am predominantly an enviro artist so hopefully I can offer some advice.

I think you could benefit from really thinking about your compositions and starting to experiment with your "camera" angles more. For example all these environments have very similar horizon lines (lower third to fifth) and comps (loose diagonal from top right to mid left) and the viewer angle is straight-on to the horizon.
Also since the sky is given the most space in all of these types of comps you can use them to add to the composition rather than just being a plain backdrop for the midground shapes to pop out against.

It would be a good exercise to look at other people's specific work that you like and dynamic photos of environments and deconstruct the perspective grids and field of view to see what is going on. Often things like slightly tilted horizons and camera views can add a lot of dynamism to a rather plain composition.

I feel the perspective is most off, in your matte...that's not surprising because it can sometimes be hard to adapt photos to your image, and not let the photo dictate the rules. Always always be absolutely clear on your perspective before you start adding photo textures.

Generally I think your values aren't too bad, but could do with a bit more subtlety. You are heavily reliant on that midground against background shift, but don't really have a lot going on in the foreground. This reduces the depth of the images and loses some immediacy to the scenes.