Jon's sketchbook
Hello!

I'm a freelance illustrator and concept artist! I've been looking for a place with a bit of a sense of community recently. I used to have a thread on the old conceptart.org forums but that place isn't that active anymore unfortunately so I thought i'd give Crimson Daggers a try. I'm looking forward to giving and receiving feedback and critiques and just learning with you guys.

I'll post a bit of my finished work and then try to regularly (or at least semi-regularly) post WIPs and sketches.

Cheers!

Attached Files Image(s)

The work speak for itself looking forward to see you do some more.

My Sketchbook
The journey of an artist truly begin when he can learn from everyone error.
Teamwork make your dream work.
Asking help is the key to growth.
@darktiste: Thank you!

I'm currently working on my environment design skills. I'm trying to create a fantasical jungle area and have drawn up a bunch of thumbnails. I also started on some prop design and a study to try and get the dense feeling of a jungle. Definitely need to practice that more.

Attached Files Image(s)

Some sketches and some more props for the environment piece.

Attached Files Image(s)

Where the portfolio piece?I send you back the ball.For those form they read flat i think there missing a bit more of value change around the edge.But i also have my own theory that white also create the illusion of flatness and take away from the subject that why i also throw a mid grey background as minimum unless it pure flat silhouette.

My Sketchbook
darktiste: The prop designs are part of a portfolio piece. They're supposed to help design an environment. You're right that the rocks and trees lack a bit of form but I thought it was more important to figure out the shape languange and colours than taking the time to figure out the forms completely every time. But I appreciate the note. Maybe I should pay more attention to it in the future.