Crimson Daggers — Art forum

Full Version: Rocktave's Sketchbook
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

Rocktave

Hey all,

So one of my goals for this year is to refocus back on the fundamentals of drawing and painting. I'm a 3D Artist / Animator for Cartoon Network and want to strengthen my fundamental artistic ability after developing my animation for so long. Been keeping an eye on Dave's work and Crimson Daggers for a while, and now this forum is coming up at a perfect time. Figured I'd jump on board.

Here's what I've been up to lately:

WIP of a friend's webcomic character
[Image: Valkin6.jpg]

Wood Duck study
[Image: WoodDuck_study.jpg]

Business Troll
[Image: troll_matt.jpg]

Voldemort Speed Painting
[Image: Voldemort_digital.jpg]

I'll post more studies as I do them. Much to learn!

Rocktave

Here's my first study for the next Challenge. I found this pic on DA and thought it would make for a good study. Still a WIP, obviously.

[Image: Princess_mononoke_study01.jpg]
hey, what up? I had a nice hard look at what you've got going on and I have to say I really like what you're doing with your color work on the imagination pieces. There is a nice balance between warm/cool and saturated/de-saturated color. I think you might want to shift your focus on creating more concrete forms though. Everything tends to feel like it's made out of the same soft material, especially the way light tends to effect everything the same way. The color on the last ref is pretty dead on, but I think you could push the saturation around in some of the areas, specifically the shadows around the neck and arms, and the eyes seems a tad bit high. Anyways, keep pounding away on those studies!

Rocktave