Crimson Daggers — Art forum

Full Version: Suggestions/Critiques Please =]
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

zeiram3f

So! I have two pictures that I've recently done, and the subjects within the images are pretty much the same... with a few technical adjustments done on the later image. Anyhow, I'm not quite comfortable with both of them, and something feels off in each. The first feels flat, despite the implied depth. The second feels... cheap? I don't know how to describe it, but I'm curious about what you guys think. Anyhow, see below V

[Image: barking_up_the_wrong_tree_by_zeiram3f-d5irkez.jpg]

[Image: pack_hound_concept_by_zeiram3f-d5jozch.jpg]

So yeah. Mind you, I've only been doing this stuff for about six months... and I know very little so far. Every project has been a learning experience.

Thanks,

CG
Nice one. The creature has a really interesting look =)

I am not that experienced, so not sure my input will help too much, but the creature's right arm (closest one to the viewer) is rather dark. Try lighting it up a bit to make it come closer and emphasize the detail on it.

Should probably make these changes on a new layer though as my advice may not be too accurate.

zeiram3f

Mathias,

Thanks! =]
I'll actually keep that in mind. I suppose there is a slight discontinuity between the values from the closer limb than the others.

Also, upon looking at the top-most picture, I don't know why I created such a dramatic light reflection off of the creatures undersides... it's almost like a primary light source rather than reflected light. So those areas need to be darkened... Hmm... anything else perhaps? =o

CG
You offered me some help on my work, hopefully I can offer you as insightful help as you gave me.