Crimson Daggers — Art forum

Full Version: Environment - Please Critique
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi, my name is Zachary McLean, I'm new to Crimson Daggers so here's a little bit about me:
I've grown up in Calgary, Alberta, Canada, all my life and I'm currently going to High school. I'm 16 years old and I've been working very hard at my dream of becoming a concept artist & illustrator. Since I'm a student, I just paint on my free time, but I hope to go to art school once I graduate.

Please feel free to comment, critique, and do paint overs on this piece.. I have lots to learn and would appreciate all feedback! I'm struggling with the composition and I'm currently not sure what to do with the left portion of the illustration. Thank you!

[Image: tumblr_mkpcfuhnP81r2y795o1_1280.jpg]

jjeeaann

Hi, I did a paint over:
-Added a path to guide the eye to the selling point of the image.
-cropped most of the sky out and changed it to add a little more depth.
-added a mountain on the left to make a V shape of the composition.
-Darkened the torch and added wind direction pointing to the center.
-added sun light affecting the rocks near the blue cave.
-darkened the edges to get the viewers eye to stay on the center of the painting.
jjeeaann:
Thanks for the paintover!! It helps a lot. I still am not happy with it though, but I guess that's possibly because the POV isn't all that dynamic. If you or anyone else has any other crits, please feel free to help out. I've attached my rough progress and will have to clean it up, but I wanted to get the basic light and composition down.
Process:

Olphelia

Hi Zachary,