Crimson Daggers — Art forum

Full Version: I'm new to this and open for any suggestions !
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi guys ! I'm a newbie at this and motivated to draw but as you see my art sucks, i accept any suggestions !
This is Ammit the egyptian Devourer of Souls, in the myths and drawings she has the head of a crocodile, the upper body of a lion/leopard and the lower body of a hippo, this is my attempt at drawing her, i wont post any photoshop version as i dont have a tablet or any skills in photoshop :D if you can help me out with something related to this or art in general feel free !
Hey insollence,
Welcome to the show.
Not bad! If you seek improvment, you can start the long (but fun) road of anatomy studies, along with life drawings. (And value, light, and the like...)
Also think about basic perspective of the forms of the body, overlapping between body parts, (like the arm on the left of the drawing, for example, unclear if passing in front or behind the body), and the like. It's visible that you allready have a feel about that, (the tail is clearly retreating away), but you could had pushed it on the main body, I think.

Nice work anyway, keep on drawing!
Thank you very much for your feedback man ! I'm happy at least somebody writes here. I will try, i'm planning on buying Hogarth's Dynamic Anatomy and get really deep in anatomy, but I still don't know how should I evolve my values,shading,light do you have any suggestions ? I mean something clear like a book or a process or a training routine, anyways many thanks !

Elmstreetart

Don't worry about digital painting yet, draw, draw draw! Drawing is the fundamental part of any piece of art, once you can accurately draw, painting is just a matter of learning the medium you chose whether oils, acrylics or digital. The next true challenge will be COLOR.

Draw on and prosper.
Loomis. Get all the books.