Crimson Daggers — Art forum

Full Version: Comic artist looking for more :)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

IronOdin

Greetings Borthers and Sisters!

I've been a lurker here for a few years and have finally come out of the shadows. I found this place almost by accident. I think I had followed a link to Brad Rigney's work and the breadcrumbs eventually led here and to the Livestream channels. Pure inspiration!

This came at a time when I was having doubts about what I was doing. The livestream re-lit a fire that had been burning low for a few years. I won't bore you with all of the details, but I work as a professional comic book artist. I got my start at IDW Publishing by penciling and inking a story in Gene Simmons's House of Horrors. I've also had some inking work (Ghostbusters: The Other Side, and G.I Joe: Origins). Most of my paid comic work has been as a color artist and I currently work for Hi-Fi Design on books for DC and Early Readers books for Marvel/Disney Worldwide Publishing.

I'm at a strange point in my career where I still love comics, but I'm falling out of love for the industry and how things are run. I'm appreciative of the opportunities afforded to me, but there is more that I want to to. My current goals are to work more on my own ideas and properties, whether it's graphic novels, comics, or game art. Video games are my second passion and I dream of creating a few in my lifetime. I have a little knowledge of UI/Ux Design, but no implementation. My love is more in line with illustration than design. I love to draw and plan on dedicating more time to it this year (it's harder to do when you have a 2 1/2 year-old and wife to spend time with too Tongue)

I look forward to the continued inspiration through this forum. It makes me yearn for the old Eatpoo days, and apedogs seems to be very quiet....ahhh, the good ol' days.

Cheers to growth Brothers and Sisters!