Crimson Daggers — Art forum

Full Version: Ji-Li's Sketchbook - Critiques Please!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I'm a software engineer primarily, but I really love art and I want to be able to do both programming and drawing extremely well some day and aspire to work in some of the top game companies out there. I've so far worked in local companies here for about 2 yrs now.

Anyways I have had sketchbooks online for a long time. Primarily Conceptart.org. But I figure I'll get more critiques in more active forums so trying out different ones. I've known about this one for a while but just never got around to actually making an account until today. I hope you all will help me learn and improve a lot here! (:

I'm going to Start off with most recent studies
Currently attempting photo study of my brother and mommy. (:
I haven't really done many photo studies so this is really hard.

So far have spent an hr on this.
Gestures I did yesterday and attempted to kinda finish up study but honestly decided to stop after 40 extra minutes into it since the last version posted.

Gestures were 120seconds each from QuickPoses.com
Nice start to your sketch book. You should check out Andrew Loomis's book on figures Figure Drawing for all its Worth. As well as Michael Hampton's book Figure Drawing: Design and Invention. Also look up Proko on youtube and watch all his figure drawing tutorials. And theres a resource thread in the forums with tons of links to helpful information.