Crimson Daggers — Art forum

Full Version: Jed's Chicken Scratches
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Hey Daggers,

I'm a long time lurker of forums similar to this and I've always been hesitant to post my stuff for critique.

So here's me taking the red pill to see how deep the rabbit hole goes.

Quick background, I've been drawing as early as 6 'til HS. My stuff were almost exclusively in anime/manga style character concepts, and pinups.

I'm self-taught after missing out on an opportunity for formal art education during college, and pretty much went dormant for almost 10 yrs. during my full-time employment.

Took up the pen again in hopes of picking up from where I left off, and like most, to someday make a living doing what is a life-time passion.

Will start off the SB with some of the doodles, practice, and studies I've done this week, and hopefully build up a consistent enough rhythm of practice/posting.

A pair of portraits from imagination, trying to make use of stuff I've learned in recent months.
[Image: tumblr_n1xqocpbSC1sbh1fro1_400.jpg]
[Image: practice_02_17_2014_by_vagrant_angel-d76um32.jpg]

Ongoing practice on expressions. Used a bunch of front-view expressions by Joel Jurion as reference and tried applying them unto a different character viewed at a different angle.
[Image: tumblr_n25b20M6QG1sbh1fro1_1280.jpg]
[Image: practice_02_22_2014_princess_powerful__b...77fzuf.jpg]
[Image: quick_sketch_03_06_2014_by_vagrant_angel-d792pwr.jpg]

Something I've been working on and off on for the last couple of months.
[Image: tumblr_n1elh6IPrA1sbh1fro1_1280.jpg]

4 hr. value and face anatomy study of Tyrion
[Image: practice_03_07_2014_imp_by_vagrant_angel-d798jcv.jpg]

Comments and critiques are very much welcome.
Semi bad day for sketching, quality is mostly "crappier" than usual, but at least managed to power through with something.