Crimson Daggers — Art forum

Full Version: Matt's sketchbook
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5
Oh, hi. I've been doodling for a few years, thinking that I was learning to draw. Two years ago I actually started to learn to draw. I've had a tablet for a few years, but never configured it properly, so I never really used it much; it only led to frustration (perhaps something to do with mouse acceleration...) Finally got it sorted out a few months ago, and last week I decided to actually learn digital, so here are most of my studies since.
Hey, welcome to the Daggers! Cool stuff, that's a great start to a sketchbook, looking forward to see more from you! You seem to have a pretty good grasp of colours and values already, and I love your brushwork - keep it coming! :)
Oh, thank you. Here's some stuff I finished up this morning.
So I only did one study today. Just a rough skull. I didn't bother too much with the rendering, just trying to block things in. I had a fair bit of trouble with the teeth, and in the end didn't get them right.
Instead of doing another master study, I did some doodles from imagination. Which is significant for me, I probably haven't done anything of the sort for 8 years or so. Judge me not, but I'm pretty pleased with them. I've struggled for a while to do anything from imagination.
Haven't gotten as much painting done as I'd have liked to in the past few days. Here's a lil' doodle from last night, and a WIP study of John William Waterhouse. Oh and merry Christmas.
I think this is as far as I'll take this one. Spent a few hours on it last night, and when I started again this morning, I realized that I was just mindlessly rendering. Still, it was a worthwhile exercise and it got me back into the swing of things after a brief laps over Christmas.
love your brush work, spot on with colour aswell :) great stuff
@[b]rainbowsorknives[/b] Oh, thanks so much.