Crimson Daggers — Art forum

Full Version: My Climb From Absolute Beginner
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hey everyone, I started drawing about 1 1/2 weeks ago and this is some of what I dumped out so far. I'm making this sketchbook as motivation for myself to constantly improve and show progress(hopefully for years to come). Below are just some exercises and "gesture drawings" that I've done from various models on Pixelovely. I've also picked up various books like Vilppu's Drawing Manual, Figure Drawing For All It's Worth, Figure Drawing: Design and Invention and have read... I would say the first couple of chapters from each, but I really don't have any direction as to what I should be focusing on.

I would love to work toward becoming a character designer, so if anyone has any critiques/advice to offer as to where I should go from here, please feel free to comment and tear my scribbles apart :)

[Image: YDefQgN.jpg?1][Image: 2U2n0lb.jpg?1][Image: r86l0N7.jpg?1][Image: qDR3j7W.jpg?1][Image: 72Ltsmj.jpg?1][Image: AQeXUFG.jpg?1][Image: 0Mn3052.jpg?1][Image: 5c3Z5HW.jpg?1]
Hey, welcome!

I feel familair with your situation, about half a year ago I also decided to start drawing for realz. As far as I can see you picked the right exercises to start with. I mainly focussed on portraits, but now I realized I lack some fundamentals so I'm getting back to that as well.

For studying; Books are nice, really important is to practice what they write/illustrate. I refused to do this, being like when I read it I know it. Well, I might know it, but being able to do so is something entirely different ;).

Some stuff that might be helpful to check out as well:
www.proko.com a lot of videos on figure drawing and anatomy
Burne hugarth also has nice stuff on figure drawing, dynamic poses and stuff.