Crimson Daggers — Art forum

Full Version: Tristan's Sketchbook
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Can't remember how many sketchbooks I've stated here but here goes another one (always like a clean start). Thought I'd try to get back into posting my work somewhere online. Sort of dropped off the face of the planet for like a year or so. I guess I'll give a quick bio for those that don't know me (should be good at it by this point since I've had multiple sketchbook threads over the years). 

My name is Tristan Berndt. I am a student at The Florence Academy of Art, studying classical/academic drawing/painting. I was previously self taught, learning from books, online sources, trial and error. Did that for a while and eventually managed to get some work in illustration and some minor concept art jobs. 

Anyway, one thing lead to another and I ended up deciding that I needed to get a lot better and the way I wanted to do this was through classical training. After a bunch of research, visiting ateliers, talking with students and instructors, getting all kinds of advice and so on, I felt like FAA was perfect for me (and I think I was right in that assessment) I'm on break right now, having been there for a year, just counting the days until the next trimester. 

I used to work all digital but now, after having been working for some time exclusively with traditional mediums at the atelier, I've really fallen in love with it, so I'd say most of the things I do during my free time is also traditional (still do a bit of digital every now and then).

I'll be posting whatever I'm up to. Thinking of doing some landscape drawing when the weather gets better. 

This image is just something I made to goof around with. Wanted to play around with keying and compressing values 
[attachment=89535]
Hey man, welcome back!