Crimson Daggers — Art forum
(Beginner)Wallpaper Paintover Request - Printable Version

+- Crimson Daggers — Art forum (//crimsondaggers.com/forum)
+-- Forum: PERSONAL ARTWORK (//crimsondaggers.com/forum/forum-9.html)
+--- Forum: SEEKING CRITIQUE/PAINTOVERS (//crimsondaggers.com/forum/forum-36.html)
+--- Thread: (Beginner)Wallpaper Paintover Request (/thread-6186.html)

(Beginner)Wallpaper Paintover Request - FreyjaPaints - 03-12-2015

Hey all. I am new to Crimson Daggers and over the past couple months have really began studying my fundamentals and trying to improve myself as an artist. Because my color theory is still very meh (Once I finish with Anatomy studies and Form studies I will improve it), I am doing this image in greyscale because I am still working on my values. A lot of the trouble I have had with this image has to do with my edgework.

After doing several thumbnails and finally taking a liking to my current composition, I have begun rendering and working out any kinks I found in the thumbnail. I usually don't do pieces completely from imagination like this, using little to no reference. I am about 3 hours into this painting, and am taking a very speed-painting like approach, which is something I usually do not do. While I am still defining light sources (And will probably have to redo a lot of my rendering because I do not believe they are obvious enough, I am feeling kind of stuck with the sky, which needs some perspective fixes. I have used a hard round brush for most of this picture so far, so the clouds do not have the aesthetic that I would like.