Comic Reading List
With the approach of Daniel Luvisi's interview, I took a look at his DA account and the LMS website. I LOVED IT. He linked to HeavyMetal.com website to buy the book (though it's not there :( ) and that's where I got sucked into a vortex that is...whatever that is. Browsing the graphic novels section made my head spin, but in a good way.

I've only seriously read manga (japanese comics), but that's not to say I don't love the western comic art. And I definitely like THIS art.

But I have no clue where to start.

TL;.DR Does anyone recommend awesome western comics outside Marvel and DC, like those featured at HeavyMetal.com (not exactly sure what you call that; hardcore kickassness scifi/fantasy/erotic genre?) to someone who is a total newb to that world?

Thanks!
Hey Amber,

If you want to check out an awesome 'eavy metal comic my pick of the litter in my book is Gypsy by artist Enrico Marini, its a supurb manga/ western style. There is English translation available on amazon
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gipsy_(comics)

Anything by the writer Alan Moore, particularly Watchmen and League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (the comic is 1 billion times better than the film)

And everyone seems to fall in love with Love and Rockets by the Hernandez brothers at some point in their comic carriers….

my favorite graphic novel has always been "Doomed" by Ashley Wood. It's based on classic short stories by horror writers from the twilight zone and hitchcock presents. It's definitely Ashley Woods best work. Even he says so.
[Image: 1doomed.jpg]
My second favorite is Pride Of Bagdhad. It's about a pride of lions that escape from the bagdhad zoo.
[Image: pride-bomber.jpeg]
Northlanders is a great ongoing series. The interiors are typically meh, but the storytelling is always great.
[Image: Northlanders_Vol_1_40.jpg]
Here's a link to a free issue of The Killer.
http://graphicly.com/archaia-comics/the-killer/1
Thanks alot guys. I'll be looking into these :)