Art Schools
Hi,

I live in Canada and am currently in high school. I've been looking for art schools with programs that can help me to become a better concept artist & illustrator, but even more so a better drawer and painter. I am a hard worker, and am determined to achieve my goals and dreams. I've self taught myself for approximately 2 to 3 years however, I know that I need a school/program to learn design fundamentals. Being pushed by other artists and mentors is one of the main reasons I feel I need to go to art school. I want to get my foot in the door of the industry.

I have found some schools in the US, but they're all quite expensive. There is also FZD, but I'm not prepared to go to an expensive school without serious scholarships. Should I go to a local art school for fundamentals? Should I try to find a internship at a game studio, instead of school?

There are so many options. Appreciate all feedback! Thanks!

FZD has great results in a very quick time as they plough their students with fundamental work and understanding for something like six months out of the year long course, but it's very expensive for international students, and I don't know if you can get any kind of scholarship unless you are from singapore which is a shame.

If you go to a school in the US really research it and make sure they are teaching what is relevant to the career path you want to take, you can call them and ask them etc to find out. As it would be a waste of your time and money if they cannot help to teach you sound fundamentals to build upon as you would like to learn them.

Hope my ramblings are of some help lol