Work is there - Be a good giver
I know a lot of you wonder how to become a freelance artist and I am not sure how YOU can do it but I know how I did it. I imagine if you did the same, with the same intentions, then you would also find yourself where you want to be.

When I first started as a freelancer I didn't know the direction I should go in to make money but I discovered a terribly easy formula: I realized the work was already there... I knew a lot of people and surely some of them could use logo designs, ads, labels, illustrations and instead of trying to convince them to give me their money for the service, I would do it for free. Who could say no to free work? Through this work I would eventually make my living, build a sweet portfolio, and put my 3d, design, and illustration skills to great use.

I had recently been laid off from a concept/illustration position at a company due to lack of work during the recession in 2009. I had been given the last 2 weeks pay with no requirement to work in order to find a new job. This was very kind of my previous employer. I sat at home, struggling to find myself again and feeling terribly alone. All I had known were 3 jobs, 2 as an artist and 1 at a furniture company. What was I to do? Get another job? I couldn't bare it... I decided I would try to freelance and this is where I found the simple truth that giving is the way to real success, not in taking. I read a book called the go-giver which promotes good giving principles and I realized this is the core to great human relationships anyway! Of course it should be the cornerstone of my design-business.