What makes a good self-taught artist?
Hey guys,

For a couple of months now, I have been looking back at my art school experience and trying to figure out how did the people at the top of my class ended up being at the top of the class. I know that they didn't rely entirely on school to learn everything they wanted to learn which made them stand out.

One of these guys once said to me that he would pick at someone's brain until they acquired what they wanted and that's pretty much it. I saw him read a hole bunch of books related to art too. So I've come to certain conclusions but there are still a few things that I'm still trying to figure out.

A good self-taught artist is:

-Self-reliant
-Always reads on the subject of art
-Learns from people who are better than himself
-constant in his work
-dedicated to his craft

One of the things that I can't wrap my mind around is how does a self-taught artist see his own mistakes and his own bad habits that he develops? How does he get around to dismantle these things without outside help?

Also, if you guys know other things that aren't in my little list, could you please list them and maybe explain them to me please? I'm sure that would help a lot of people here too!

Thanks for the help guys!

Always open for critiques!Thumbs_up
My Sketchbook

My Tumblr

My DA
A lot of people misunderstand what self-taught means. It doesn't mean that you don't seek outside help, in fact it can sometimes be the opposite in that you constantly seek outside help and feedback from others. I don't know of any self taught artists that lived in a bubble only reading books and working on their craft with no critiques, never watching other people work, never participating in some sort of group activity and so on