Learning to draw to become an illustrator
Hi.
Here are some of my older (sadly unfinished) drawings:

As you can see, I'm just a beginner.
That's why I've started learning from Hampton's Figure Drawing book (currently I'm doing chapter about upper torso). Todays notes and drawings:

It would be really great to read your thoughts or advices!
 (especially if you have any tips about learning how to draw faster - each of those unfinished figure drawings [at the bottom] took me around 45 minutes; is it normal?)
As for drawing faster, don't worry too much about it. In fact, the more you do something, the faster it becomes without you realizing, because of visual library and repetition. Reason it takes longer to get something in the start (this something I learned from instrument as well) our brains aren't used to what we're learning. But after continuous repetition the process becomes easier in our brain, which in turns lets you do the thing without thinking about it.

Hope to see more from you, since you already know what to practice.
Hi Hermit, i personally think its oke to take longer time. just take your time and try to be more accurate as possible.
i think some people might take longer because they think more about what are they are going to put into the drawing, so its more decision making like which line are you going to choose and i think that is really good if you are doing that.
Like Zearthus said, once you are used to it your decision making become faster or even without thinking. btw from what i see you already know shape and form, the anatomy it self are pretty good. i think it just more into proportion. (just my opinion :D)

Hope to see more stuffs XD

Thanks for your encouraging replies!

And thank you insbox for pointing out my lacking proportions - I guess I'll have to work on my gesture drawings, when I'll find time.

As for today's sketches: