A Windy Sketchbook
Hello everybody. I'm really new to art, pretty much starting from square one, so here's a sketchbook to document my progress, and get some feedback.

Waiting on some better pencils that I ordered to come in, so for now using what I have, a mechanical pencil. Also ordered a book and I'm waiting for that to come in too. So for now, I found a picture of some apples and a picture of a banana for references. First time using my printer's scanner ever, so that was interesting. Lost a bit of the shading I did. Only like my second or third time ever drawing from a photo or life.

Attached Files Image(s)

Hello and welcome to Crimson Daggers! Wonderful beginning. How interesting that your sketchbook should begin with the fertile and interesting fruit!

I hope that your progress is 'fruitful'. Grin

Don't worry about using a mechanical pencil-- Just learn to use it as a tool. Have fun with it. Try using crosshatching instead of more smooth shades/tones. Also, feel free to use a pen! A pen forces us to be careful about the lines we're putting down.

You've done a great job of getting the contours and outlines of the forms!

Keep working hard, and you're gonna be awesome!

Sketchblag

Join our Study Group: The Velvet Revolvers!  Let's work hard together!
Usually I'm good at seeing puns coming... Meh Not this time...

Anyways, thank you Happy I do have some pens around from when I practiced some lines a few months ago. I'll give those a shot. And I'll definitely give crosshatching a shot next time.

Decided to step way out of my comfort zone and gave some skulls a shot. They weren't quite as bad as I thought they would be, but still really tricky.

Attached Files Image(s)