Fantasy illustration - asking for help
Hey Daggers,
I've been working on a illustration with a first attempt at more emphasis on narritive and composition.
So here the current piece. below is the initial idea and some of the drastic changes.

c&c always appreciated.

[Image: falsecomfort.jpg]
By lumensart at 2012-08-23

[Image: lineszl.jpg]

[Image: closeup2m.jpg]
Hey Lumensart

I like the colors and the painterly strokes! The part with the creature getting attacked at the top of the hill looks good, the birdwomen attacking it look very dynamic!

I'm no expert or anything, but I see two problems with this painting.
First of all the lights look very random, you got a sunset in the background, but the characters are lit from all directions, the two closest bird women look like they have been pasted into the image as a result. I made a ultra fast paintover, hopefully it makes sense to you, the red markers show all the random directions of light coming in, the lower one is an attempt to quickly correct some of it using the sunset as the source of light.

[Image: falsecomfortlight.jpg]

The second problem that I can see is that the poses of the characters are a little bit awkward, the birdwomen in the back attacking the guy's mount look good, but the ones in the front are kind of just stepping lightly on the guy, and he's very piled up without a clear silhoutte, making it hard to see what he is doing. I made a quick paintover with a diffrent approach, which hopefully speaks for itself, but I made the guy reaching for the axe easier to read and the birdwoman sitting on him like she's caught her prey. I put his hat a bit up the hill and made the birdwoman's hair point towards the mount, both in an attempt to lead the eye up the hill.

[Image: falsecomfortrepaint.jpg]

I hope this made sense haha, keep up the good work!

Ah thanks a lot Simon!
I agree on the lighting beeing kind of all over the place.