Stuck in greyscale/somethings off
Hey all, I'm new to this and found this area of the site so I figured I asked what everyone thought.

I've been trying to learn composition and leading the eye and such. Anyway, I've gotten this far in and it feels off somehow but I'm not sure why it looks weird.

Any tips on how I can fix this up before trying to tackle color would be immensely appreciated.
[img][Image: IyLlssjl.jpg][/img]

[font=Impact] “There is no substitute for hard work.”
Thomas Edison
[/font]

DeviantArt
CD SketchBook
Hey dude,
Now this is just personal opinion and personal preference so keep in mind I could be talking nonsense without me realizing it.
But for what it's worth here is the advice for the image applied to the attached paintover.

Seemed to me that:
1. The perspective of the dude was different from the perspective of the water. (The camera is looking directly at the dude, but it's looking at the water from a point higher up)

2. A sense of scale. We might make the rock formations (or stalactites or whatchama call them) be bigger than him. The bigger the difference between the size of the character and that of the enviorement, the more epic, daunting, strong, etc is the one that is largest.

3. Contrast, atmosphere and distance.
A- When we have a strong contrast it's harder to create atmosphere (that is how light and colors are filtered through the air). The only difference between paintover 01 and 02 are 3 light touches of that fuzzy default brush.
[The way I see it it's a good thing how the light makes a transition to the dark part where the eyes are lurking in the shadows (by the way, love those) You might even barely suggest the silhouette of one of them, only the top of the head or something subtle.]
B- Also having more planes inside the image will create the illusion of distance, so darker elements closer to the camera and less saturated and grayer elements the farther away they are.

4. Painterly effect and focus.