Butterknife's Sketchbook
Rainbow 
Hey there, I'm a total noob when it comes to drawing and I have been trying to improve for a long time. I've always admired this place, but have been too scared to post here. I feel like I don't have a lot of direction in terms of how to get to where I want to be, I thought maybe if I put up some things I might be able to get some advice on areas I could improve.

I'd ultimately love to be able to do digital paintings, but I feel like I have to be at a certain skill level with drawing before I attempt to try painting(maybe I am completely misinformed). So I haven't tried. Anyway, thanks a lot for looking! :)

Okay, my first update. I followed Ctrl paint's contour drawing lesson. The homework was to draw 10 objects as contour line drawings.. I tried, and I think I didn't do it properly. It took me forever to do though. I also did my first digital painting haha.

I'll keep following and doing ctrl paint's lessons, and hope it helps.

I've been following the ctrl+paint lessons still. Trying to start using my tablet more for drawing. Some of the drawings were totally out of focus when I scanned them, welp. PEACE BE TO YOU.

Hey Butterknife, Good job on the still life drawings your doing, definitely seeing some improvement, keep those up.

Quote:I'd ultimately love to be able to do digital paintings, but I feel like I have to be at a certain skill level with drawing before I attempt to try painting

You don't have to be at a certain skill level with drawing before going digital, but I highly recommend getting comfortable with drawing before you do. I really wasn't very good at drawing, and I dove right into digital painting and I feel like I've suffered a little more then I should have when I was learning to paint (My drawing ability is still lacking). It's pretty tough learning how to use photoshop and draw at the same time, especially with using a tablet where your drawing at one place and looking at another.