Help with perspective/foreshortening
I'm planning on putting this piece I'm working on in my portfolio.

Something seems kinda off in the chest and head area (circled with light blue). Didn't notice it until I started painting the drawing. Also, the back ground seems kinda boring; should I add something?

Attached Files Image(s)

You succeeded in making his collar thing look dimensional (though it doesn't look symmetrical), but his head and neck look flat.

Hiya! Hiya! Hiya!

Sketchbook | Deviantart | Tumblr
(08-15-2013, 12:12 PM)Psychotime Wrote: You succeeded in making his collar thing look dimensional (though it doesn't look symmetrical), but his head and neck look flat.

Just the collar thingy? how about the rest of the armor?

I understand the neck looking flat, but the head?
You haven't rendered the rest of the armor, so I can't say anything about that.

Now that I look at it again, where is the tail coming from? It looks more like it's coming from his crotch than where a tail actually comes from. I think it's the shape of his groin that gives that impression, but it can also just be that you haven't rendered the planes yet. I can see what you might be intending and there's no problem if my assumption is correct, but again it's not rendered, so I can't give a definite comment on it.

And yes, the head looks flat. I'm not seeing a convincing three-dimensional shape.

Hiya! Hiya! Hiya!

(08-15-2013, 01:05 PM)Psychotime Wrote: You haven't rendered the rest of the armor, so I can't say anything about that.

Now that I look at it again, where is the tail coming from? It looks more like it's coming from his crotch than where a tail actually comes from. I think it's the shape of his groin that gives that impression, but it can also just be that you haven't rendered the planes yet. I can see what you might be intending and there's no problem if my assumption is correct, but again it's not rendered, so I can't give a definite comment on it.