How to go about practicing environments and perspective
Hi there! I'm doing a personal project at school right now, and it requires me to put at least 56 hours into practicing my basics when it comes to perspective and environments (. I'm a complete beginner when it comes to these two, so I thought I'd do some research on what practice is the most effective for what I want to learn. There is just so much to learn and it's a bit overwhelming, to be honest. Any advice on where to start?
http://crimsondaggers.com/forum/forum-61.html Go through the teaching videos isra posted and do the exercises and you'll begin to learn the basics and some of the mor complex things in regard to perspective I can't recommend those classes enough (and theyre free :) ) . Scott Robertson's book also 'how to draw' is extremely in depth and has a ton of teaching vids linked but the book isn't free (considering the amount of fundamental depth in it though it is worth a lot more in my opinion.

I think for environments specifically, you should focus on three fundamentals first.

1. Perspective
2. Values
3. Composition

Other things that really help with environments are understanding how to imply scale with specific cues (the ubiquitous flock birds is an example of this) , using atmospheric perspective and shape language.

These things are the most important. To aid you in this practice try some or all of the following.

- restricted value thumbnail studies of master paintings I.e pick 3 or 4 values from dark to light and only using those block in the major values you see. Spend no more than 30 mins on each one.
- after doing the above analyse the images compositions. Draw in on top of the compositions the major lines of flow and the focal points using a bright colour. What makes the value structure and composition work?