Rookie's Journey to... who knows where?
Thought I would start a beginner's sketchbook here. I started one over at concept art, but stumbled upon this site and thought the community might be a better place to learn from.

I'm an absolute beginner in terms of drawing. I did do some design in University, having done an engineering degree, but it was mostly isometric drawing and poorly attempted. I've always wanted to learn how to draw, but shied away from it because I didn't think I had any 'talent'. I've got a new perspective now though, and figured I would give it my best shot.

My goal is to eventually do some charcoal portraits, as I love the shading / value work in those pieces. I also enjoy landscape sketching.

I've begun working from the Loomis books 'Fun with a Pencil' and 'Figure Drawing for All It's Worth', and I'm trying to do at least 2 hours of practice every day. If anyone has any suggestions on stuff to work on, books or techniques to read up on, or just general ideas on better methods to practice, I would love to hear them.

I've attached what I've been working on the last couple of days.

Looking forward to it!

Hey there, good to see some Loomis studies, but don't be afraid to expand out of that even if you don't feel ready yet. I personally didnt really find Loomis helpful to be honest but lots of others did. It'll probably be a good stepping stone but its not the end all! I think you should do studies from life (friends family etc) alongside Loomis to really get the most out of it.

Also when you get to the rest of the human body, I personally liked going through Burne Hogarthes books. Very exaggerated forms but theres a lot of interesting tips in there