Recommend a program?
I'm in search of a program for my digital art. I have been using GIMP 2.0 till now, but I was unhappy with it.
A lot of people recommend photoshop, and i agree, it is an excellent program to use but since there are a lot of versions out there i wouldn't know which one to choose :(
I am a beginner so please, help a brudda out with a recommendation :)
Well try to tell us what you dislike in gimp 2.0 and for there you will know better what you want to fix with other program or just try to find description of program and there feature.Everybody is different so is there need and preference but if a lot of people recommend something it rarely a bad choose to give it a try

also look at this
https://nz.answers.yahoo.com/question/in...925AASCkh1

Note that best answers is 2 year old so it subject error

My Sketchbook
The journey of an artist truly begin when he can learn from everyone error.
Teamwork make your dream work.
Asking help is the key to growth.
photoshop, corel painter, sketchbook pro. those are all good, photoshop the version doesnt matter that much although in cs5 (i think since this version maybe before) and onwards you can press R and rotate the canvas( especially useful for line drawing and not having to paint with your hand in a weird position). There's manga studio to, but I havent used it.

They all also have trial versions of the full software you can try out to see what you feel most comfortable with.

There are free digital painting softwares such as mypaint which is a good free alternative to.

It's all done to personal preference but I think corel painter and sketchbook pro try to replicate traditional media a lot more than photoshop does. Not that it cant but It's probably easier in those softwares.

I predominantly use open source software as a matter of principle. (Down with the Capitalist Pigs! :P) though there is no denying that PS is really good software.