Coloring a Grayscale Image
Smile 
Hey guys, I'm here to ask some help, I've been doing this centaur below for some time now, and I decided to do it's volume on grayscale so that I could have more freedom later on when coloring, but I've done a few tests and I can't really get the color right.
Could anyone help me or give any tips on how to color grayscale images?
Should I learn how to color the image while adding volume to it?

[Image: Ii6UhOT.jpg?1]

Sorry if any of those questions are silly, I'm relatively new to digital painting and to this community xD and thanks guys! Oh, and of course, any anatomy, pose tips or anything really will be really appreciated. :)

P.S.: here's another one with transparency on, in case you need to do a selection to paint, or something like that, it's not so clean but I figured it could help lol. x)

[Image: eVhXQAt.png?1]
Hi there!

It's good that you're working in grey scale. I would say values are most important to learn and practice before you get into color when you're new.

I'm assuming you're using Photoshop? If so, have you tried layer blending modes? For example, you could quickly tone your image by creating a new layer above you painted greyscale, pick a color. Say a neutral brown. Use the paint bucket tool and drop it on the new layer. Change the blending mode to multiply. You should see your tones show through mixing with the multiply layer. If it's looking too dark you can lower the layer opacity to your liking.

This technique can help you get started with experimenting and learning digital painting. I don't believe there's a magic way to convert your grey scale image to a color image. You'll can keep piling on the layers and trying different layer modes to find a result you like. I hope this helps, Good luck!