fauxfresh's sketchbook
Big Grin 
Hey everyone, I'm a beginner so any comments, critiques, criticisms or advice is genuinely appreciated. I do not know any artists in my area so I always feel a little lost when it comes to art. So don't be shy!

Here is a photo study I'm working on now. I'm at the stage now where I really struggle to keep working because I don't know exactly how to do really detailed things like the rocks on the bottom right, or the foreground stuff.

Do I zoom in really close and try to do it exactly? Is there some brush that I need to be using? I did most of this with a chalk brush (first time I've used one before) which looked really nice at first but over time it didn't really give me the results I wanted so I switched to a round brush.

I've attached what i'm working on now and the reference image. 

Any advice would be much appreciated! I am a beginner who does not really know any artists irl so even really basic stuff would be valuable to me. [Image: biggrin.png]

Attached Files Image(s)

Here's my sketchbook! Any comments, criticisms, advice or critiques are very appreciated. I'm a beginner and I don't know what I'm doing yet  Tongue
It's usually better to stay zoomed out for as long as you can, especially in a study, when you zoom in too close too soon, the details become overwhelming and you can get lost in them, noodle for hours on something unimportant, and lose the "bigger picture" in the process. Try to get the big shapes, colours and values down first, even in the detailed foreground areas. Don't forget that this is about analysing and understanding what you see, not about copying the photo down to the last pixel.