I need a little help understanding how to draw ellipses in perspective
How do you know which direction the minor axis on an ellipse is supposed to be going?

I read that it should always align to the vanishing point like in this image but in this image it does not seem to be the case for any of the ellipses.

In figure 2.3 on this page the minor axis on the ellipses go towards the right vanishing point but not the left one.

Can someone explain this to me? I feel like its something really simple and I'm just not seeing it.

Here's my sketchbook! Any comments, criticisms, advice or critiques are very appreciated. I'm a beginner and I don't know what I'm doing yet  Tongue
Hey there fauxfresh,

Keep in mind that we draw ellipses to illustrate a circle in perspective. Meaning it's perfectly round if we look at it straight on, and it's elliptical if seen on the side. (Which in the first image you provided illustrates). If the circle is indeed perfectly round, then we can also say that the circle can fit perfectly in a square..

The second image you provided does not illustrate a perfect circle. Couple of clues are: 1) both the minor axis isn't vanishing towards the horizon line. 2) Shape of the box is not a perfect square. The ellipse in question, if we look at it directly, should be oblong and not a circle.

In the third image, the minor axis is tilted towards the right vanishing point because the object is foreshortened towards the right, meaning, if we stretch the cylinder into the infinite, it's going to 'vanish' into the right vanishing point.

Hope this helps!

If you are reading this, I most likely just gave you a crappy crit! What I'm basically trying to say is, don't give up!  
----
IG: @thatpuddinhead
Same as above but in a nutshell XD.

" The minor axis divides the ellipse in half across its narrowest dimension.

It always points to the Vanishing Point that is perpendicular to the ellipse's surface being sketched.