Poll: How effective are ateliers compared to concept art focused courses?
You do not have permission to vote in this poll.
Just as good.
57.14%
4 57.14%
Slightly less effective
0%
0 0%
Good but quite a bit less effective.
0%
0 0%
Far of, but good budget wise.
14.29%
1 14.29%
Not worth it.
28.57%
2 28.57%
Total 7 vote(s) 100%
* You voted for this item. [Show Results]

Opinions on the effectivness of art ateliers?
Drawing and painting, no matter what is going to be helpful to developing your art career, but mindless drawing doesn't come close to structured drawing. To what extent do you think atelier training compares to more concept art relevant courses? Do you think they are worth it? Remember I'm talking about concept art specifically, not game illustration or fine art.
If you haven't guessed by my many other posts, I'm trying to get a good idea on effective education, so any help/opinions will always be helpful.
I'm currently studying at an atelier (http://georgetownatelier.com/) and my goal is to go into concept art and illustration. I chose to go there because the teacher is awesome, it's cheap, and I could commute from my parent's house so I wouldn't have to find an apartment.
Based off of my experience at the atelier so far, I think that this was a good choice for me because my teacher worked in the game industry before and he values illustration and concept art. He also is very flexible with how you use the time at the atelier, and will let students draw digitally, create imaginative work, and he will also critiques concept art if you show it to him. The thing I don't like about my atelier is that I can't do work with color yet, so all the work I do in the atelier right now is charcoal and graphite. I do colored digital pieces outside of the atelier though.