How to seriously improve drawing/painting from imagination?
Lately I've been putting in quite a bit of work and doing more and more studies, however I've come to realise that I'm only learning so much from these, as I'm pretty much missing the entire point - which is to apply them to your own work.

However my ability to draw from imagination is absolutely abysmal. Because of this I find it extremely difficult to even start a piece from imagination, let alone finish one. I'm 22 and since I started drawing as a kid, I could probably count on 1 hand how many original pieces I've created. Most of it stems from a huge fear of creating terrible drawings - I just can't get over that fear. And I'm 99% sure that this is the main thing holding me back from improving at a fast rate. Doing 'studies' from reference will only get me so far if I'm not applying them to anything.

So I was wondering if anyone had some helpful advice or know any resources that deal with this? I've looked around and haven't found anything that helps. Any reply is greatly appreciated - thanks.
Well no secret potion you already know the problem but you don't want to shallow the pill.''You said it  I'm 99% sure that this is the main thing holding me back'' fear is not gonna disppear it something you have to deal with.You can roll and in ball or smash your fear into piece.Studying often become the comfort zone of artist they stop to imaginate and they can't figure out how to learn to invent.To invent you need a process.This mean that you need a proven method to generate idea and to make it work and look good.
It where it also get tricky because everyone as there own method but what stay is the step .

The brainstorm=A general theme or time period you want your imagination to go to.=The destination
The reference gathering=A map you can use to support the destination you wish to follow
Generally a thumbnail phase to generate the idea=Creating some possible path