Nunkui, sketch for woodblock print
Hi! It's my first time posting here, I'm glad I found a nice art forum at last. I finished an ink and watercolor sketch sometime ago, it was supposed to be a quick sketch but I couldn't help myself and ended up finishing it on the small piece of paper I started it. I'm going to carve an improved version into some wood blocks to make prints in traditional japanese style, but I don't know what exactly needs improving and what should remain as is, I know the anatomy is wrong but I can't quite put my finger on it. Any help or critiques are welcome, thanks in advance! 
Welcome to the forum! This is really cool! such intricate detail, I'm wondering how difficult that will be to carve. it's interesting how you compose things geometrically by connecting implied lines together. Where did you learn to do that?

I don't really have any advice, other than I would agree that the woman is the less strong part, but I'm not sure exactly what it is either. Nothing seems technically far wrong at all, but maybe stylistically she differs from other elements.

(06-15-2021, 11:38 AM)JosephCow Wrote: Welcome to the forum! This is really cool! such intricate detail, I'm wondering how difficult that will be to carve. it's interesting how you compose things geometrically by connecting implied lines together. Where did you learn to do that?

I don't really have any advice, other than I would agree that the woman is the less strong part, but I'm not sure exactly what it is either. Nothing seems technically far wrong at all, but maybe stylistically she differs from other elements.