Digital painting critique
Big Grin 
This is my first post, but I was looking for some critique on this painting I did, more specifically on the overall lighting and colours.

It's my first time painting a big indoor scene like this, and it feels very flat and uninteresting, but whenever I tried pushing the lights or the darks it ended up throwing everything off and looking wrong. I probably didn't plan the peice well enough as the composition also feels off, and the character's expression looks flat and uninteresting and I probably repainted it about 15 times.

Any and all critique/paintovers r welcome, thank-you for your time

Attached Files Image(s)

I would add something to the floor like a pattern to indicate an interior space because the ''tree'' like element goes agains't the idea that this is taking place in a indoor space.Also the empty nature of the space doesn't help establish and interior.

The problem with your light is atleast to me that you did not take a bold approch that use contrast.This look like a overcast day which can work for more melancolic or sad mood.

Alot of time was spend on small detail where thinkimg about the scale of thing would have help create more dynamism by planning .This would have given you the opportunity to establish visual importance in term of scale.

You can certainly imply a large monster without the need to have the whole creature frame inside the composition which can complicate using space in the composition that could be use by other element to establish more context to the scene.