Fantasy Book Covers Project
Hiya

I've been drawing caricatures for a few years now but it's not until I really thought about why I got into illustration in the first place that I remembered I really wanted to do book covers. I keep having ideas and doing sketches but not really going for it.

This challenge is a great way for me to get my thumb out of my butt and start putting together a new portfolio of cover work and fantasy painting, I've got two fake covers on the go so far and several sketches to work up.

Edit: Just going to leave this little slice of inspiration here.. http://www.goodshowsir.co.uk/ <--only the worst sci-fi/fantasy covers

Invaluable advice: http://muddycolors.blogspot.co.uk/2013/0...overs.html

Attached Files Image(s)

Some more sketches that I will work up in the coming weeks...

Attached Files Image(s)

Sweet, book covers are one of my pet want to dos as well....backing ya all the way!

YouTube free learnin! | DeviantArt | Old Folio | Insta
Thanks Monkeybread :)

Another doodle I worked up today...I might do some more and make it a series..falcons flight, falcons fight, falcons fail etc ...

Flipped and worked on the helmet some more to make it more falcon-like, not used any ref yet...

Attached Files Image(s)

rough sketches of the 5 ideas I have so far, the 6th one is going to be the bali challenge. Also put together some old scifi covers for inspiration :D the dinosaur one kills me

Attached Files Image(s)

finalised one of the designs and made 2 mock ups, my boyfriend pretended to be my Art Director and gave me his opinion and we both agreed that the autumn colours looked better but the blue one was more striking so I'm going to do one that's inbetween...

Attached Files Image(s)

Ok, started with laying down the basic shapes and values for the background...

Attached Files Image(s)

Slow going...

Attached Files Image(s)

Overlaid colour and blocked in the ladies...now it's time to take ref pictures and paint...