Question about Sci-Fi concept art
Hello everyone!

I am a newbie at concept art and have a question that you probably know the answer.

How can you design sci-fi stuff?

I mean, if you are trying to develop something medieval, you have the real history to research, but what can a designer do to create something that doesn't exist in the real world in a believable way? Are there creative techniques or tips that you could share?

Thanks!
:)
Ok sci-fi for me is only a projection of current technology so example you wanna design a gun a sci-fi gun get some reference first of current gun that exist.Start making a visual library of gun
draw them study them to learn how each par of a gun function and look.So i call this reverse imagination you take something you don't know start observing and research it then after that you open a box call imagination and you add or erase stuff from the subject.

So let make the final example of what it look it a gun but now it able to shoot laser.
The next step consist of making the gun appear to be ''plausible''(in the future)
Ok so now you choose that it shoot laser but how is this even possible you would ask
imagination come here again learn about laser and shit.Come up with a design.

In step i look like
1.find the subject
2.find reference
3.learn about the subject
4.draw each part of the subject apart to separate them and have a better idea of how they look(insert exemple of part of a subject arm head etc can be any subject)
5.ask yourself what the use of the object and how can you improve the look or use of the object
6.now that you have separated the subject in part and that you know how to draw each part
redesign NO ONE KNOW HOW THE FUTURE WILL LOOK BUT IT AS ROOT IN THE PRESENT SO USE WHAT YOU SEE TO MAKE IT ''PLAUSIBLE''
7.Read book it good for you the imagine shit and it good for you

My Sketchbook
The journey of an artist truly begin when he can learn from everyone error.
Teamwork make your dream work.