Alex Freitas' sketchbook
Hello everybody! I'm Alex, from Brazil. Long story short, I'm a psychology student that don't want to be a psychologist. I'm almost finishing college, but what I really like is creating art. So I'm in a journey to become a professional artist, or at least achieve a reasonably good level so I can finish college and be able to focus on art.

This being said, here is some studies I have done these days. Any feedback is highly appreciated.

These gestures are from 30 seconds to 5 minutes
[Image: gestures+1.jpg]

All these are 2 minutes, I'm trying here to use less lines for sketching, avoinding scribling.
[Image: gestures+2014+07.jpg]

~40 minutes
[Image: estudo+40+min.jpg]

~20 minutes
[Image: speedpainting+unfinishedlady.jpg]

Trying to learn color
[Image: happyturtle.jpg]

~ 1 hour
[Image: from+imagination+2014+01.jpg]
I'm updating with some landscapes studies I have done. I'm having a hard time on these, I guess I'll have to do at least a hundred more to start to understand what I'm doing...

[Image: landscape+study+2014+09.jpg]

[Image: landscape+study+2014+10.jpg]

This one I liked more, it was more fun working from imagination. (the others were done using photo reference)

[Image: environment+study+21+01+2014.jpg]
Heeeey mate. Welcome to the daggers. You did a great start here ;) I look forward to see more stuff from you coming anytime soon. Cheers!

Hey Ramalooke, thanks! Really appreciate your comment.

Here are a couple more studies I have done, bit by bit I'm feeling I'm improving :)

Both were done in about 2 hours. The landscape is from photo reference and the other is a master study from Sargent.

[Image: landscape+study+2014+11.jpg]

[Image: master+study+1+sargent.jpg]