Jeremy Gordon Sketchbook
I guess an introduction is in order: name's Jeremy, I'm a 22 year-old aspiring illustrator/concept artist. I'm planning to go to grad school in the Fall (2012) to study painting. I'll try to keep this thread updated as much as possible. Cheers!

[Image: 2-26b.jpg]

[Image: 2-26a.jpg]

[Image: 2-16a.jpg]

[Image: 2-11b.jpg]

[Image: 2-11a.jpg]

nice studies. digging the asian. i guess i have a thing for them lol.

Hey! Good start here. More still lifes! -- Go! Go!

Edit: Came back to post a thought I had as I was clicking "post reply" the first time. You may want to try dropping a perspective grid on your canvas from time to time even when you're studying. I think it would help out with your still lifes in getting those objects on the table.

There's some in this brush set that you can just drop straight onto your canvas easily and adjust by moving and transforming however you need to: http://www.pandemoniumart.net/brushes/ (I believe they're in one of "M@" Mathhias's sets.

Steve Anthony Pierce
CD Sketchbook | Artstation | Instagram | Blog | Twitter | DA | Facebook
Thanks guys; I'll try that perspective trick out soon.
More stuff:

[Image: comp2.jpg]

[Image: comp1.jpg]

[Image: step1.jpg]

[Image: 2-27b.jpg]

[Image: 2-27a.jpg]

Good stuff bro! I only have one thing I want say about your comp. for the Windwaker challenge. I see what you are doing but there is no real connection to the viewer. All the characters are faced away from the viewer. I hope it helps you in some way.

The apple is awesome btw. :)
Thanks Mattias! I agree with you; I'll either have Ganon look back towards the viewer somewhat, or have Link looking toward the viewer (though he's pretty far away, so I don't know if that would work).

Tried to make Ganon have some kind of connection with the viewer:

WIP

[Image: WIP4.jpg]

Here's a much-needed update

[Image: plein_air_1_zps0953b00d.jpg]

[Image: 21_zps3dadfb3a.jpg]

[Image: Untitled-1_zps8a89b3ec.jpg]