SUP!
Tongue 
Hey! My name is Lorena Pimenta (my internet nickname is also Piloreta), and I'm a brazilian art student. I am 19 years old, and I have been painting digitally since I was 16 years, but I just started to study the fundamentals when I was 17. Since then, I have been struggling to improve my works, specially now that I have more time to spare, because I couldn't study art that much when I was in high school (I don't miss those school days hahaha).

Now I am studying visual arts here in Brazil, but my teachers are not very into the fundamentals, because they have a very closed mind in terms of what is art and what is not art (they are more connected with art of the 20th century). I respect how they treat their works and their objectives, but I will not stop to treat my own artwork according to my own personal taste... They should not be trying to make us do the same kind of work that they make, that upsets me a lot. I heard my future painting teacher does not like figurative stuff, perspective, lines: he hates all that, I am worried, because I also heard that many people at my school does not consider illustration as art, and I think this is so messed up... (This is very boring, but I also have many friends from my class that want to be illustrators, so we are all kind of sad on how narrow minded some art teachers are :( But we are determined to do what we like! Art is not something someone tells you what it is, in my own opinion ).

I dream to be a professional illustrator and concept artist one day. Internet really saves my life, tho: I may not have the best teachers that can help me in my objectives, but I have access to so much information online... I have been trying to contact other illustrators from my country and outside to gather as much as I can. And, thanks god, I know how to speak in english: god, everything is in english!