Greetings
Hello Everyone,

It doesn't look like there is too much activity on the forum these days, but I'll post something and we'll see where it goes. I learned about the forum through a David Rapoza Gumroad tutorial. He mentioned the forum in the tutorial and I thought I would check it out.

I won't be too long here, but let me briefly explain what i do and my goals. I have been sculpting for years, but I did start out drawing. I just ended up focusing on the sculpting and never really developing my drawing skills to the degree I would have liked to. So now I am giving sculpting a rest and starting to spend more time drawing and getting into digital art. I am a complete newbie with digital painting. I learned some basics and completed my first few digital paintings after taking an Udemy course on painting faces taught by concept artist, Hardy Fowler. I have much to learn, and that is part of the reason why I am here. I am hoping to exchange thoughts and ideas with other like-minded artists, and also I was hoping I would find some motivation to continue with my practice through this forum. I work a full time job and sometimes it's not easy to find the time to draw and paint, let alone the drive, but I am not one for excuses, so I am making sure to fit artwork into my schedule each day.

Okay, enough about me. Just wanted to introduce myself and start off by sharing a couple of work-in-progress pics of a painting I am working on now. This is a painting of my niece when she was approximately 12 months old. She is now 22 months. The likeness is not spot on by any means, but it does look like her. I am not too worried in nailing the likeness though. This is more an exercise in painting. So I started out in grayscale, and then I tested out some color, adding the base and red tones with a soft light blending mode in Photoshop.