Composition? (First post)
Hey, this is my first post and i'd just like to preface this by saying i am a pretty amateur artists. I one day hope to be an illustrator, but my environment, composition, well pretty much all my skills are lacking. I've had an account on crimson daggers for a while now but i've only just got an intuos pro last Wednesday.

However in this piece I'm trying to create an interesting dynamic composition, but i can't seem to get it right. They're supposed to be like stone/classical angels coming out of the ground. As i said i know next to nothing about composition apart from a couple of threads and one of the resources I've seen on the site about rule of thirds and many other types of composition methods, but i can't seem to put it into practice.

[attachment=54165]

Thanks in advance

Attached Files Image(s)

Is this your first composition sketch for this piece? You should do a lot of very small thumb nails first. It may help to do a bunch of small composition studies of artists you want to emulate. The character standing in the foreground is suppose to be the hero of the story I assume and the angels are bad? Perhaps show it from a different angle with the hero facing us. Try out a lot of different angles. You could have the view looking down at the hero and the angels surrounding them from above and below. As is there isnt a sense that the hero is in much danger. Also having a characters face hidden is very impersonal and doesnt allow the audience to relate to them. Something like this might work more in a scene from a movie where the character can be established before or after this shot. But as a single stand alone image its confusing who we're suppose to be rooting for.