Janet's sketchbook
Hey guys! I am a newb at CD and it looks like a really cool place, so why not start with a sketchbook. I got my first tablet in late 2015 so I'm currently painting and cursing avoiding colors up until that point. I also suck at detailed work... I'm not off to a great start, is what I am saying

I already whip myself to paint daily so I'll gladly post stuff here too. Drop by, say hi, hand out some crits- I appreciate anything! 

Today's study
[Image: tumblr_o3gvhviC0W1r5uyfio3_540.png]

[Image: tumblr_o3gvhviC0W1r5uyfio4_540.png]

Man, should really do studies of things that have pictures and real life representations, I did struggle some... But hey, Zeratul's got some nice thongs going on. 

I really need to shake off my bad habits from graphite realism drawing where I worked on a piece from top to bottom rather than taking the whole image into account, it really hindered my ability to correctly evaluate how shadows and highlights work on different forms. EHH.

find my embarrassing old art in my blog
Studying should be fun, no need to "whip" yourself to force them. Great start of your sketchbook!
(03-05-2016, 03:45 AM)BrushNoir Wrote: Studying should be fun, no need to "whip" yourself to force them. Great start of your sketchbook!

Thanks, and I totally agree! But sometimes I have to make myself study to keep my daily streak going :P

I need to take longer breaks when drawing, hand pain is very real right now...

I drew the faces from memory and technically only the figure is a study from a pose stock, I struggled a bunch with different poses until I stuck to a rather safe standing pose. Mental note- time for anatomy studies.[Image: tumblr_o3iskiLRBI1r5uyfio1_1280.png]

[Image: tumblr_o3j3poMgYC1r5uyfio1_1280.png]

Last study of the day- the dreaded hands! I think thumbs were created as a conspiracy to make me feel bad as an artist, must be  Stupid