Deathline goals
I am new to digital art ( started last month ) but really love it. I went to college for a bit for computer science related stuff and thought that was what I wanted to do but after doing it for years I eventually found I wasn't as interested in it as I hoped. I really want to make art a career for myself and have thought about it a lot.
As I never really tried to study and learn art to improve myself before I know it will be a long, hard road but I am committed to doing it.
My current goals include working through about 12 art books, all focused on something I want to improve ( anatomy, values, color, light, etc. ) and seeing as this is a 1 year challenge if I even get through 1 book a month I will complete most or all of them. And at the end I hope that I am much more experienced in different aspects of art and can continue from there.
Another goal is to find a decent part-time job ( I work full-time at the moment ( 9 hours a day, 45 hours a week ) and it gives me limited time to improve myself ), because in my current living arrangement I can make enough for rent, food, and other small things I need working part-time if I live frugally. I have a good chunk of money saved up in case you guys are worried about this not being viable, so if things go south and I need to find a full-time job again I will have about 8 months of time to find one with my savings. With part-time work I will have much more time to work towards my goals and will have more energy to do so.
My final goal is too personal to post on here, so if anyone wants to know if I'm "keeping true to my third goal" just ask and I will reply honestly.
Hey man, welcome! I switched from an IT career, taught myself how to art and became a freelancer within 3-4 years while working full time. You can do it!