Kilillan's Sketchbook
Star 
Hello everyone!
This is my first post here (and the first time I've ever posted art online)
Almost 2 decades ago (when I was in middle school!) I used to lurk Conceptart.org, but I never really drew anything. My job is unrelated to anything creative, but I wanted to learn to draw before I got too old. I started drawing this year in May, 2021 (about 6 months ago from now) with a goal of drawing 4-5 hours every single day and I want to continue drawing at this pace for another 18 months.

I really want to improve my drawings, and any advice would be appreciated. I definitely need to work on line quality and anatomy. 
I do 100% of my art on procreate, I did go to a trial of a life-drawing class where I was forced to use a pencil and paper and I felt like an idiot... I kept trying to use two fingers to "undo" and I kept trying to zoom in by pinching the paper :/.

Thanks for looking!

Oh and I was also trying to learn Zbrush in the beginning but I gave it up to focus on drawing

Hi Kilillian,

Those face studies are beautifully done. As far as advice goes for getting better drawabox.com has a lesson plan and exercises that will help with pen control, draughtsmanship and accuracy.

I also think it's important to always have a short term goals and a long term goals.

So you already have two long term goals - to improve line quality and to improve anatomy.

Short term goals for improving line quality might be:

1). To study and try to emulate the line drawing style of artists you admire.
2). Swap back and forth between practicing using traditional media (pencil, different types of pen, brushes etc.) and digital and experiment with different line drawing widths and tools when working digitally. Basically explore line work with different tools.
3). Explore subjects for line drawing you haven't tried yet (landscapes? object studies? abstract drawings?)

Short term goals for improving anatomy might be: