Walent's sketchbook
Hi there! Never thought you were on this forum, kinda surprised. Was interesting to look through those pages and see the progress you made from the moment you started the thread.

@one_two: yup, I call this my "secret" sketchbook where I basically post everything I save from working sessions.

-

Been a while, felt like coming back to fill a few more pages here.

I feel like I passed a threshold in my artistic development perhaps also one regarding my mindset, which is important, so now I feel a lot more prepared to achieve my highest goal.

A few years ago I rarely found myself interested in anything regarding clothing or armor design, nor drapery, so every time I studied that, I approached it like you would approach a still life - you know, measuring, simplifying but taking it for what it is and not trying to understand the things hiding behind or the way stuff is connected, the layering of things.
Nowadays it's the opposite, I find myself hunting for reference and a lot of time I'm amazed to see how I remember certain design elements that I only saw once but never studied, so I can instantly apply them to my sketches, which I think is an indicator of interest.
I don't know what happened and why did it take so much time but well, I'm here, that's what's important.
I also know how important keeping a healthy mindset is to an aspiring artist, so I found out that pushing yourself too much can sometimes hurt more than help.

So this year I decided I'm gonna do more sketching from imagination and less studying.

Wow! Your style of sketching is really attractive to me. I always have thought that in order to get strong form and lighting to read, you need unified masses, which means flat with no holes. And that the result would be confusing if less solid. But your paintings always have these large hatched lines or broken colors. If anything your work is stronger for it!

Maybe it just captures the strongest ideas of things.