Birdie's Sketchbook
Hello everyone! I've been lurking these forums for a while, but finally decided to make a sketchbook. My only experience with art is one beginners art class, some Draw-A-Box, and a few Ctrl Paint studies. I'm a novice artist - but I really love drawing and try to devote at least 1-2 hours a day to it. Sometimes I miss a day due to school or work, but I'm pretty consistent overall. Summer just started for me though, and I really want to take advantage of the extra time to level up, as well as continue to increase my consistency and output. 

I currently don't have any professional aspirations - but I would love to self-publish a comic book someday, and maybe start an online shop to sell illustrations. 

I'll do my best to post daily, or at least every other. I may be a beginner - but I'm serious about putting in the hard work necessary to reach these goals! 

Here's some stuff I did this week to give you an idea of my skill level and the stuff I'm currently working on. I've spent a lot of time studying form with Draw-A-Box, but my observation skills are seriously lacking. I spent this week focusing on proportion, shape, and value. 

I did two proportion studies. One of a dog, the other a cat. Next I did a proportion study of a Totoro plush and added some value. I did it twice and included my first and second attempt. Finally, I did a value study of a pork bun, but unlike Totoro I tried not to think about line and focused purely on the value. I also did this one twice. (I included all the reference images I used too. Never posted on a forum before - so I hope all my images post in an order that makes sense. It appears also I can only post a few images at a time, so I'll add another post after this with the rest of the aforementioned studies.)

I really appreciate any feedback or advice you might have. Don't hold back! 

Thank you - I look forward to learning with everyone here!