Lyraina's sketchbook
Hello and welcome to my sketchbook thread!

I'm currently doing my master's degree in biology (to be exact: molecular ecology), but I am drawing every free minute that I can get my hands on. I want to pursue a career in conceptart/illustration - I'm aware that I have a long way to go, but in a few months I will hopefully be able to work on my skills fulltime (until my money runs out and I have to get a small job on the side, that is!).

You can watch my current progress on my blog, if you're interested.

I'm very grateful for every critique, advide, or feedback of any kind! My goal is to improve, so feel free to rip apart my weaknesses! :blush:

Thank you!
Lyra

At the moment, I try to improve my faces/portraits, be able to draw them fast and accurately from many angles, also no more displaced features (always something I get critiques on). I also would like to improve my drawing abilty as a whole, I've always prefered painting, so there is a lot to learn!

(Environment from mind, portrait and bird from photo ref)

(Why am I always so nervous when posting on a new forum/community...)

Attached Files Image(s)

SketchbookDeviantartArtblog | Portfolio
Every feedback is appreciated!
Hey! Nice work!
Cool to see that you are practicing faces/heads! You probably already know this but if not I would recommend Loomis book "drawing the head and hands" for great info and reference for head construction, planes etc.
Keep up the good work!

alexson: Thank you! :) I'm actually trying to construct my heads (in strange angles) with the Loomis method, just doesn't always look like I do ;) I think need to practice "thinking in 3d" more. Thank you for the comment.

--